“A unique and challenging experience”

Our Collections Assistant, Sam Bannerman, writes about her past year working at The Black Watch Museum in an internship post funded by Museums Galleries Scotland:

Sam working with the collections in our main store.

When I heard about the Museums Galleries Scotland internship opportunity at The Black Watch Castle & Museum I instantly thought ‘I have to apply’! I was attracted to the opportunity as I would be able to apply the skills and knowledge attained during my history degree, learn practical skills through on the job training and also work with an exciting collection.

I was thrilled to be offered the opportunity, but initially apprehensive. I had next to no experience of working in a museum, andI knew that learning about the collection and the history of the regiment would be a steep learning curve.

Fortunately, I was welcomed into a supportive and highly knowledgeable museum team that have always been on hand to answer my questions. As the museum team is small, I have gained a well-rounded perspective of the museum world; from caring for the collection and carrying out research, to working with volunteers and putting on events.

Sam is ready for the next few months working in a building site!

What I have enjoyed most is being part of the redevelopment project. Working with staff on developing the layout of the new exhibitions and researching the collection in preparation for opening in Spring 2013 has been a unique and challenging experience that not many people get to experience within their first year. The past year has flown by, and although I am sad to be ending the internship I am excited for what the future may bring. I would recommend the internship for anyone considering a career in museums, and my advice would be to seize all opportunities to experience different areas of museum work and get inspired by visiting as many museums as you can.

To find out more about the MGS internships and to keep an eye out for the next round of opportunities check out their website: http://www.museumsgalleriesscotland.org.uk/

Sam received her certificate for completing the internship at a ceremony on 25 September 2012.

About blackwatchmuseum

The Museum of The Black Watch offers an insight into one of the British Army's if not the world's most famous fighting units. Scotland's Black Watch is an elite military regiment whose history stretches back almost three centuries.
This entry was posted in Staff and volunteers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

