Volunteer Spotlight: Laura

by Laura McLaren, collections volunteer

Laura, pictured here in the main store of The Black Watch Museum.

Laura, pictured here in the main store of The Black Watch Museum.

I began volunteering at the Museum in March 2011 in order to gain some experience within the sector and establish whether it was a career that I would like to pursue. The Museum staff were very helpful and supportive of this, giving me the opportunity to carry out a collections based project running an inventory of their print collection.

Later that year I returned to commence a new project as part of a Museum and Gallery Studies course at the University of St Andrews. This involved carrying out an inventory of the objects on open display within the main store. It was so interesting exploring the Museum’s collection and having the opportunity to handle a wide variety of objects.

In addition to these projects I have also helped with some family activity sessions. These were great fun and let me experience a different aspect of Museum work. I have gained so much from volunteering with The Black Watch Castle and Museum. Not only do I enjoy the time I spend there but it also benefits me by taking me a step closer to my goal of working within the heritage sector.

Interested in volunteering at The Black Watch Castle & Museum? Check out our Volunteer Open Day, happening in January 2013: https://blackwatchmuseum.wordpress.com/2012/11/07/open-day-volunteering-at-the-castle/

About blackwatchmuseum

The Museum of The Black Watch offers an insight into one of the British Army's if not the world's most famous fighting units. Scotland's Black Watch is an elite military regiment whose history stretches back almost three centuries.
This entry was posted in Volunteer Spotlight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

