Project Scotland Volunteer On Her First Weeks at the Castle

ProjectScotland Marketing and PR Assistant Amy Fenton writes about her new volunteer role at the Castle and Museum:

When I first saw the advert in the paper for the role of a ProjectScotland “Marketing and PR Assistant” I knew I had to apply – the reason for this being it linked perfectly to my future degree of “Festival and Events Management” which I will be starting in September

Amy Fenton, pictured here with Chief Executive Kathryn Howell, started volunteering at the Castle and Museum three weeks ago.

Amy Fenton, pictured here with Chief Executive Kathryn Howell, started volunteering at the Castle and Museum three weeks ago.

2015. Being a volunteer at The Black Watch Castle and Museum is a great privilege – not every 18 year old can say they have gained experience in their chosen field before they’ve even started their course!

Before I started at the Castle, marketing was an area in which I had little to no experience,  but with the help and patience of Kathryn (CEO of the Castle!) I really feel like I’m getting to grips with the marketing concept. I’ve also been lucky enough to be given the opportunity to be a part of the team that plans events – an area in which I am exceptionally interested in.

My role has been pretty full on since I started – with planning the Autumn Craft Fair, thinking of marketing strategies for two other events and so many other things, it honestly feels like I’ve been here for much longer than the week that I have been! One thing I must mention is how welcoming and genuinely lovely all the staff are within the Castle. Everyone has made an effort to say hello to me on my way to get yet another cup of tea (which I’ve noticed I’ve started to drink massive amounts of since starting at the castle) and has made me feel so comfortable, at home and part of the team.

I however am not like the other voluntary members of the team, I am a ProjectScotland

volunteer. This means I volunteer full time doing 20 hours a week of volunteering on top of my job as well. It can be a bit of a challenge to fit everything in that I want to but it’s a really rewarding experience which I’m glad to be a part of.

During my time here at The Black Watch, I really hope to gain an experience that will benefit me in my years at university – giving me first-hand experience in dealing with various different situations which I will no doubt be faced with during and after my degree. I’m so lucky to have been given this opportunity.

I will keep up updated on how I am getting on and what I am getting involved with by posting monthly blogs on this site. Speak soon!

About blackwatchmuseum

The Museum of The Black Watch offers an insight into one of the British Army's if not the world's most famous fighting units. Scotland's Black Watch is an elite military regiment whose history stretches back almost three centuries.
This entry was posted in Staff and volunteers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

