Object Advent Calendar Day 20

Letter from Serving Soldier

Today’s object is a letter from a serving soldier to his family back home. IMG_9302 (480x640)Written on the 20th March 1945 by Lance Corporal D Lovett, a month after he had returned to the front lines following a wounding, it tells of the concern for home, and the wish to be back there, that is such a strong feature of soldiers letters, no matter when they were written. These desires are especially strong this time of year, and are the theme of the current temporary exhibition in the Black Watch Castle and Museum, Season’s Greetings from the Front.

 

14426181 L/Cpl Lovett. D.

16 Platoon D. Coy.

7th Btn. Black Watch

B.L.A.

20.3.45

 

Dear Mum Dad & All

Just a few lines to let you know that I am still going on ok.

I have not heard from anybody at home for a week now, so I hope everything is still alright, and I hope there is some mail on the way.

We are getting some lovely weather out here now, and the nights are beginning to get shorter. I hate these long winter nights, especially out here, because a night out here seems to last a life time when you are in the line, but still never mind, maybe it won’t last much longer, then I shall be home with you all again , then I don’t care what sort of nights they are.

I am afraid that I still cannot say anything definite about my leave yet, but I am going to ask the officer to find out about it for me today if he will. I will let you know what happens later. I am just about fed up with waiting myself, but still we must be patient. I suppose I’ll get it eventually.

I am more than glad that the trouble at home has been settled, Mum, and thanks a lot for letting Audrey still visit home, she wrote and told me how sorry she was if you’d been upset at all, so please try and forgive her mum. I can’t tell you what I think about it all because some-one writes and tells me one thing, some-one else another, and somebody else something else, but still if as you say you have settled it among yourselves then we’ll let it stop there. Once again thanks a lot.

Well folks I guess this is all for now so I’ll close.

Cheerio for now

God Bless you all.

Love

Dennis

xxxxxxxxxxxx

xxxxxxxxxxxx

xxxxxxxxxxxx

Ps My love to the kiddies.

Sadly there was no chance for Lance Corporal Lovett to get home on leave, or to see Audrey again, as he was killed five days after writing this letter, at the age of 19, and is buried in the Reichswald Forest War Cemetery.

About blackwatchmuseum

The Museum of The Black Watch offers an insight into one of the British Army's if not the world's most famous fighting units. Scotland's Black Watch is an elite military regiment whose history stretches back almost three centuries.
This entry was posted in Artefacts and collections, Christmas. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

