Meet the Museum’s new curator, Hope Busak

IMG_1546

Hope Busak, the new Black Watch Museum curator

I have adored heritage sites such as museums and castles from a very young age. I was the annoying child who always wanted to visit historical sites on family holidays and so please forgive my overwhelming excitement to now be the curator at The Black Watch Museum. My career in the museum sector has been an incredibly fast-paced one but you will be hard-pushed to find someone working in museums who hasn’t hit the ground running!

I gained my MA (Hons) in Social Anthropology from the University of St Andrews where my passion for material culture and museum collections blossomed. By my final year I knew I wanted to be a museum curator and began looking into how to make this dream a reality. In 2013, a year after my graduation, I applied for an internship run by Museums Galleries Scotland, the National Development Body for the museum sector in Scotland, and funded by The Heritage Lottery Skills for the Future fund. By the end of that year I was at the University of Dundee Museum Services with a set of keys and alarm codes knee deep in visitor questionnaires, exhibition plans and collection policies. I was being whisked away to Edinburgh every other month to get training on topics from object handling to event planning.

When my year as an intern was up, I applied for an assistant curator post at the same museum and was over the moon when I got it! Two years later and I find myself managing a wonderful team and caring for the fascinating collection held by The Black Watch Museum.

My induction week is over and it is time for me to immerse myself in the collections and discover all the amazing stories they have to offer. I look forward to sharing these stories with you! In the meantime, please do come and say “hello” if you see me wandering the galleries of the museum.

About blackwatchmuseum

The Museum of The Black Watch offers an insight into one of the British Army's if not the world's most famous fighting units. Scotland's Black Watch is an elite military regiment whose history stretches back almost three centuries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

